Nilgiris District

Nilgiris District
Nilgiris or The Blue Mountain is a range of mountains spread across the borders of the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Karnataka. The district is located mainly with the mountain range of Western Ghats with its administrative headquarters at Ooty.

The district with its innumerable breathtaking sceneries is a very popular tourist spot. It is bounded by Chamarajnagar District of Karnataka in the north, Coimbatore District in the South, Erode District in the east and Wayanad, Malappuram and Palakkad districts in the west.

The economy of the district is supported from tea and coffee plantations and export and from tourism.

Tourist Attractions in Nilgiris District

  • Botanical Garden, Ooty
  • Rose Garden, Ooty
  • Ooty Lake & Boat House
  • Doddabetta, Ooty
  • Raj Bhavan, Ooty
  • Dolphin’s Nose, Coonoor
  • Lamb’s Rock, Coonoor
  • Glenmorgan, Ooty
  • Avalanche, Ooty
  • Pykara Waterfalls, Ooty
  • Sim’s Park, Coonoor
  • Mudumalai Tiger Reserve
  • Tribal Museum, Ooty
  • Emerald Lake, Ooty

How to reach Nilgiris

Road – The district is connected with regular bus services that link it with nearby cities in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Karnataka. National Highway connecting Nagappatinam – Gudalur passes through Nilgiris District.

Rail – Narrow gauge toy train (The Nilgiris Mountain Railway) connects Ooty with Mettupalayam via Coonoor.

Air – Coimbatore International Airport is the nearest airport (105 kilometres away).