Dharmapuri District

The district of Dharmapuri is the first district created after Indian independence on 2nd October 1965, by bifurcating it from erstwhile Salem District. The district lies in the western part of Tamil Nadu and is bounded by Krishnagiri District in the north, Salem District in the south, Thiruvannamalai and Villupuram Districts in the east and Cauvery River in the west. Dharmapuri is the district headquarters.

The district is predominantly covered by forests (around 30% of the area) and is a major producer of mango in the state along with ragi an saamai crops.

Tourist Attractions in Dharmapuri District

  • Hogenakkal Falls
  • Vathalmalai or Vytla Hills
  • Hill Temple at Theerthamalai (Harur Taluk)
  • Adhiyamankottai and Chenaraya Perumal Temple (Adhyamankottam, 7 kilometres from Dharmapuri on Salem-Dharmapuri road)
  • Kottai Kovil/Fort Temple (northern side of Dharmapuri, 1 kilometre from bus stand)
  • Kala Bhairavar Temple (7 kilometres from Dharmapuri bus stand)
  • Dharmapuri Archaeological Museum
  • Subramanya Siva Memorial (Papparapatti)
  • Sir Thomas Munro Pillar, Dharmapuri
  • Sri Anjaneya Temple ( Muthampatti, 14 kilometres from Dharmapuri city)
  • Nagavadhi Dam and Thoppayaru Dam (Thoppur, Dharmapuri)

How to reach Dharmapuri

Road – The district has a well built network of roads. National Highways NH 7 (Kanyakumari to Kashmir), NH 46 (Chennai to Bangalore) and NH 66 (Pondicherry to Bangalore) passes through the district.

Rail – Dharmapuri has its own railway station. The Chennai –Coimbatore broadgauge line, Salem and Bangalore broad gauge railway line pass through Dharmapuri District for about 126 kilometres.

Air – The nearest airports are Salem Airport (50 kilometres away) and Bangalore International Airport (130 kilometres away).